Frauenstein Castle
Frauenstein Castle, first mentioned in 1221, is one of the oldest buildings in Wiesbaden: according to dendrochronological studies, it was built in 1182. One of its builders was Heinrich Bode von Frauenstein, who was in the service of the Archbishop of Mainz.
Frauenstein Castle became the property of the Archbishop of Mainz in 1300. From 1421, the Counts of Nassau acted as Burgmannen on behalf of Mainz. Mainz was able to hold out against attempts to take possession of Frauenstein Castle until 1803. Only then did the Nassau family succeed in taking possession of the castle.
From 1821, the Nassauische Altertumsverein took care of its preservation. In 1996, the castle was sold to the Burgverein Frauenstein e.V. by the state of Hesse.
The oldest view of Frauenstein Castle from 1723 shows a tower with a wooden tower room and steep hipped roof, just as the castle appears today. The keep, which is pentagonal on the outside and square on the inside, dates back to the 13th century and is made of greenish gneiss with walls up to 2 m thick. The three-storey tower was accessible from an external wooden staircase; inside, a stone staircase connects the three floors. A steep wooden staircase leads from the barrel-vaulted upper floor to the tower platform and the wooden tower room. The two residential floors could each be heated by a fireplace.
Since 1999, the building has been explored and structurally secured, and in 2001 and 2002 the tower room with its steep hipped roof was restored. However, the buried basement was not uncovered. The neck ditch and remains of the shield wall are still there.
Literature
Sichart, Jochen von: Securing Frauenstein Castle. In: Monument preservation and cultural history. Landesamt für Denkmalpflege Hessen (ed.), H. 1, 2004 [pp. 53-54].
Streich, Brigitte: Frauenstein castle ruins. In: Cultural discoveries - Nassau. Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen (ed.), Regensburg 2012 [p. 205 f.].