Cellar head
There is no doubt that the mountain cone located 475 m above sea level near Naurod, the eastern cornerstone of the central Taunus, served as a refuge for Celtic tribes in the surrounding area in prehistoric times.
Of the five ramparts mentioned at the beginning of the 20th century, one is still visible today (as of 2016). The heavily damaged oval rampart has a diameter of approx. 130 to 150 m and probably dates back to the Iron Age. The name Kellerskopf probably comes from a charcoal burner who operated a charcoal kiln here.
The Wilhelm von Opel Tower, named after its donor, has stood on the mountain since 1933. The "Kellerskopf" mountain inn is still a popular excursion destination. The tower offers a magnificent panoramic view of the Taunus, the Feldberg/Altkönig massif, the Rhine Valley, Mainz, Wiesbaden, the Odenwald and the Palatinate Forest.
Literature
A.v.J.: History of the cellar head. In: Wiesbadener Leben 7/1978 [p. 20].