Jump to content
City encyclopedia

Chausseehaus

Along the spa road built in 1764 from Wiesbaden via Schlangenbad, Langenschwalbach (today Bad Schwalbach) to Bad Ems, travelers had to pay tolls and customs duties. The customs house built for this purpose, the Chausseehaus, could be reached by guests not only via the Bäderstraße, but also via its own station on the Aartalbahn, which was formerly called the "Biebricher Chausseehaus" due to the land rights. Today, the buildings belong to the Wiesbaden district of Dotzheim.

The Chausseehaus is now a traditional excursion restaurant. Next to it is a forester's lodge built of bricks in 1896, which was responsible for the administration of the forest area of the same name covering around 3,800 hectares. In 1911, the Wiesbaden Golf Club began building a golf course at the Chausseehaus. In 1913, the Joseph-Baum-Haus, a former recreation home, was opened by the German Society for Merchants' Recreation Homes as the "Kaiser-Wilhelm Heim". In the 1960s, the Red Cross built a children's recreation home on the railroad line, which was used as a reception camp for citizens of the GDR in the fall of 1989. Subsequently, the city accommodated repatriate families in the building before it was handed over on leasehold to the Freie Christliche Schule Wiesbaden in 2005, which now runs a kindergarten there, among other things.

Literature

Collection of newspaper clippings from the Wiesbaden City Archive, "Chausseehaus".

watch list

Explanations and notes