Minner, Ludwig
Minner, Ludwig
Architect
Born: 11.04.1884 in Wiesbaden
died: 10.08.1973 in Wiesbaden
After attending the Staatsbauschule in Karlsruhe and studying at the TH Darmstadt, Minner gained practical experience in renowned architectural offices in Hanover, Düsseldorf and Cologne and worked in the studio of Prof. Max Laeuger in Karlsruhe. He became self-employed as early as 1910. His first building in Wiesbaden was the new private clinic of the neurologist Dr. Otto Dornblüth, a building that was later used as a youth hostel and is now part of the Federal Criminal Police Office. During the First World War, he was deployed in France and East Prussia.
After his return to Wiesbaden, in addition to a large number of country houses and villas on the outskirts of Wiesbaden, he created office and administrative buildings, including large buildings for Chemische Werke Albert, the administrative building of Didierwerke in Lessingstraße and the administrative buildings of the Kalmenhof sanatorium and educational institution in Idstein. Several municipal residential buildings in Mainz and Wiesbaden can also be traced back to his plans. The Biebrich boathouse, the clubhouse of the rowing club Wiesbaden-Biebrich 1888 e.V., was built according to his plans in 1925. He ran his architectural office for over 50 years. At the age of 83, he was still building various villas in Wiesbaden.
In addition to his building commissions, he devoted himself to painting. For decades, he was a member of the Ring of Visual Artists and his works were represented in all exhibitions. He also belonged to the Freie Künstlerschaft Wiesbaden (F.K.W.) founded by Otto Ritschl in 1925. He was on friendly terms with many artists; he also belonged to the circle of friends around Alexej von Jawlensky.
Literature
Collection of newspaper clippings from the Wiesbaden City Archives, "Minner, Ludwig".